A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Chaitra Navratri
Home city guide administration in jodhpur

Administration in Jodhpur

Jodhpur Administration

Jodhpur comprises of six districts and is the largest region of Rajasthan state. The sub divisions of Jodhpur consist of Jodhpur, Barmer, Jaisalmer, Sirohi and Jalore. To ensure the smooth running of the district, Jodhpur has been further divided into seven sub-divisions and eleven Talukas, apart from these there are also two independent sub-tehsils or upa-tehsils. 

The further sub divisions of Jodhpur are Jodhpur, Bhopalgarh, Luni, Osian, Phalodi, Piparcity and Shergarh. The Talukas are Jodhpur, Bhopalgarh, Bawadi, Luni, Osian, Phalodi, Bap, Bilara, Mandor, Shergarh and Balesar, while the independent sub tehsils are Jhanwar and Tinwari.

The Talukas are actually development blocks which have many Panchayat Samitis within them, in order to ensure smooth administration. Except the city of Jodhpur which is looked after by the Municipal Corporation, the towns of Bilara, Piparcity and Phalodi, are all governed by Municipal Councils.  All in all there are around 1794 villages in the Jodhpur District which are looked after by 351 Gram Panchayats.

The basic administrative duties in Jodhpur are carried out by the District Collector, the head office of whom is located in the District Collectorate of Jodhpur. Along with him the District Magistrate is entrusted with the duties of the district, who is assisted by for Additional District Magistrates, namely - Additional District Magistrate – I, Additional District Magistrate – II, Additional District Magistrate – City and Additional District Magistrate – Land Conversion. Apart from these there is an also a Development Project Director and the Zila Parishad.

Municipal Corporation of Jodhpur

The main Municipal Corporation exists in Jodhpur, while as there are minor councils at Pipar, Phalodi and Bilara. Earlier known as the Municipal Council only, the Municipal Corporation came into existence in the year 1874. Rajasthan as a state has three divisions for the Municipal bodies, which are assigned according to the size of the towns/cities. While the smaller cities have Municipal Boards, the medium sized ones have Municipal Councils; the largest ones are the ones which incorporate a Municipal Corporation.

The Municipal Corporation of Jodhpur has 60 elected member, who are known as corporators or ward members, and they represent their respective wards, which are basically geographical units of a district or city. 

The ward members are elected by general voting in the ward wise electorate, and serve a period of 5 years. Apart from these 60 elected officials, the corporation also has, 4 Ex- Offcio members, which is comprised of the M.P. 3 MLAs namely from the areas of Sardarpura, Soorsagar and Piparcity, and apart from these there are also 3 nominated members.

Jodhpur Municipal Corporation
Polytechnic College Campus Residency Road Jodhpur
Email. ceo_nnj@rediffmail.com
Phone : 91 9351924917 , 0291-265 1464
Fax : 0291-2651464

The Rural Development and Zila Parishad System in Jodhpur

Almost three fourth of the population of India falls under the Rural scale and is generally characterized by low economic independence, which in turn is inadequate for a quality life. Hence to combat rural poverty, the Rural Development Program along with the Panchayati Raj Department, were created to help in the implementation of the various Central and State Policies. 

The main objectives of these systems have been to reach out to the under-developed, under-privileged, disadvantaged section of the society and provide them with employment opportunities, as well as support the basic infrastructural fabric that helps in support their sustenance.

 The Zila Parishad of Jodhpur was created in the year 1974, and was registered with the co-operative department in that year. The institution of the DRDA or the District Rural Development Agency was organized under the Zila Parishad, with the Zila Pramukh as the Chairman of the DRDA and the District Collector as the Executive Director.

At the district level the responsibility of the implementation of the various rural development programs lies in the hands of Zila Parishad. The basic governing body includes the MPs (Members of Parliament), MLAs (Members of Legislative Assembly), district level officials of the various departments, and also representatives from the under-privileged sections of the society. 

At the Block level, the Block Development Officer heads the administration and at the village level, the Gram Sevaks or the Village Representatives, look after the various developmental programs.

Some of the rural developmental programs that are being run by the Zila Parishad, Sampoorna Grameen Rojgar Yojana (SGRY), MLALAD (MLA Local Development Program), Guru Govalkar Yojana (GGY), (Golden Jubilee Self-employment Scheme) SJSY, Indira Awaas Yojana (IAY), National Social Assistance Program, Desert Development Program, Combatting Desertification Program, Gram Sarthi etc.

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries